Brief history

In October 1945, President Ho Chi Minh signed the decree to establish Hanoi University of Arts – the precursor of the current VNU University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Hanoi. In April 1956, University of Hanoi was established. During this period, fundamental foundation for the disciplines of social sciences and humanities as well as the university’s tradition and reputation were laid.

In September 1995, the University of Social Sciences and Humanities was established on the basis of the disciplines of social sciences and humanities from University of Hanoi, and became an official member of Vietnam National University, Hanoi - the country’s leading comprehensive and most prestigious training and research center.

For over 70 years, the university has represented the convergence of leading revolutionary intellectuals such as President Ho Chi Minh, Prime Minister Pham Van Dong, General Vo Nguyen Giap, erudite scholars including Professors Dang Thai Mai, Tran Van Giau, Dao Duy Anh, Cao Xuan Huy, Tran Duc Thao, and generations of eminent academics who have founded and developed the social sciences and humanities in the country, and brought international fame to Vietnam.


USSH strives to become an advanced research institution in the top 100 Asian universities.


As a long-standing, leading, and prestigious institution, USSH has a mission to discover, preserve, and disseminate knowledge; to produce creative work; and to promote a culture of broad inquiry throughout and beyond the USSH community. USSH aims to become a leading educational center with the goal of creating holistic educational opportunities and fostering knowledge in social sciences and humanities. USSH also aims to produce a body of students that will play a significant role in contributing to the task of national construction and development.


“Liberal education”

USSH has been offering short-term courses on Vietnamese studies for students from the Victoria University (Australia); Beijing University, Beijing University for Finance and Economics, Guangdong University for Foreign Studies, Guangxi University for Finance and Economics (China); Bansomdejchaopraya Rajabhat University, Mahidol University, Silpakorn University, Thammasat University

  • 24/07/2017 09:00